News » Crime

Austin Police Offer $1K Reward for Suspect in Beating of Gay Couple

by Kilian Melloy

EDGE Staff Reporter

Thursday September 24, 2020

Frank Macias appears on CBS Austin's news report.
Frank Macias appears on CBS Austin's news report.  (Source:Screenshot via CBS Austin)

A 23-year-old suspect in the beating of two gay men last year is now being sought by police in Austin, Texas, for failing to appear in court. A $1,000 reward has been offered for information leading to his arrest, CBS Austin reports.

Frank Macias is one of four suspects who were arrested last year in connection with the beatings of Tristian Perry and his partner Spencer Deehring. As reported at EDGE at the time, the two men had left a gay bar in the early morning hours of Jan. 19 when a man hurled a gay slur at them.

According to Deehring, the man then signaled to "four or five others," at which point the group allegedly beat and kicked the two. Perry described the ordeal in a social media post in which he described being punched in the face and then kicked in the head until he lost consciousness.

Deehring attempted to intervene but was also beaten unconscious.

The four suspects - Frank Macias, Miguel Macias, Quinn O'Conner, and Kolby Monel - were arrested not long after the attack.

Frank Macias "has two outstanding warrants for aggravated assault with a deadly weapon in connection to the incident," reports , and is regarded as "dangerous" by law enforcement after having posted "threatening comments on social media about law enforcement and the district attorney's office."

Local news radio KLBJ reported that the 2019 attack is regarded by local police as having been a "hate crime."

Kilian Melloy serves as EDGE Media Network's Assistant Arts Editor. He also reviews theater for WBUR. His professional memberships include the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association, the Boston Online Film Critics Association, The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association, and the Boston Theater Critics Association's Elliot Norton Awards Committee.

Comments on Facebook